feminism · Hijab · Islam · Islamophobia · Muslim · patriotism · Uncategorized

Safe Space

Please read this.
This is a personal request from me, Kathryn, and I wont take much of your time.

0a9545859abab9a02db5f04615a9c7f0
With the escalation of violence against muslims, and women with children in particular, you could literally save a life. A Muslim woman was SET ON FIRE in the middle of the street, two muslim women with babies in strollers were violently attacked, a Muslim woman was assaulted so badly that she has a miscarriage, and a Muslim woman in her sixties was stabbed to death blocks from her house…
and I’ll tell you a secret…a secret that’s likely not so shocking for any woman out there…most of the violence, the hurtful threatening words, the intimidation, the looks so tangibly filled with disgust, you will never even hear about.
Most of the time we pretend WE didn’t even hear it, we walk faster, we roll up the windows, we change our routes and routines to dodge it…
But on that occasion when we cant…when we are on a bus, or at a stop light, or trying to eat our lunch in peace or play with our children at the park….please don’t be the silent majority that so often says ‘it’s not my problem’ and leaves us to the wolves…..
To all my friends and family, muslim and non muslim, PLEASE SHARE THIS.
And even more importantly, please make a commitment to yourself that you will try to be that safe space for us when we need it.
I wont give you the “we are your wives, mothers, sisters and daughters” shpeil here. In reality, it may simply not ring true. Maybe what I am, in my head to toe black billowing garb, is entirely alien to you.
It that shouldn’t matter.
I shouldn’t need to be someone familiar and comfortable to deserve my own humanity and dignity.
I shouldn’t need familial bonds to be able to look to another human being for aid in a desperate situation.
I don’t go out alone.
I have walked to the mosque with just myself and my son’s once. It is two blocks from my house, and I won’t lie and say I didn’t spend the whole two blocks thinking how best place my body should a car swerve towards us to deflect the blow from my children….
There are woman who don’t have the luxury I do, of a husband to travel with and the ease of staying in my home. Many of us live with no other choice but to go out alone or with their children in hijab.
Be the safe space for us
https://www.facebook.com/plugins/video.php?href=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.facebook.com%2FBuzzFeedWorld%2Fvideos%2F922320414540646%2F&show_text=0&width=560” target=”_blank”>What to do when you see Islamophobia

 

Leave a Reply

